top of page
Cream and Brown Photographic Beauty Site Launch Website (1).png
Cream and Brown Photographic Beauty Site Launch Website (1).png
Search

Things I Learned from Simone Biles


I’ve always loved gymnastics as a kid so the Olympics was always a highlight in my home. Watching Gabby Douglas was an amazing moment as a younger girl. Now that I’m older, I get to watch Simone Biles and I am always amazed! I don't know the technicalities of gymnastics but I know that when I watch her, I get goosebumps. I don't know Simone personally but she seems like the sweetest soul and I am so proud of her. I try to learn new things from everything including my favorite athletes and artists. So following Simone for a few years has taught me some things and I want to share them.




Black women (including me) are human


The Tokyo Olympics was a highlight of the crazy summer of 2021. People were hoping that we could return to life before COVID as well as unifying for a while as proud citizens. As a community, the Black community watched as the Olympics officials created more and more racist rules for fallacious reasons. We saw Sha’Carri Richardson become the face of the CBD vs THC movement. So when Simone finally got to Tokyo and started filming and practicing, I was so excited to root for her like I’ve never rooted for anyone before. I was prepared to be screaming and jumping in my living room when news hits that Simone pulls out for mental health concerns. It immediately made me sad. Of course I wanted to see her shut down everyone talking about her as she does but I also wanted her to be okay and feel safe. We can't use her as a mascot because she is human with human issues because winning doesn't remove troubling thoughts or emotions. I am glad she spoke about it a bit because it reminded me that Black women can be the best in the world and still have the pressure of proving themselves. I feel like that had to be on Simone’s mind. I hope she doesn't feel like she has to prove anything to anyone after proving time and time again that she was BORN to do gymnastics. We live in a society where productivity is more valuable than putting yourself first but I would like to challenge that and I’m glad that Simone did. This is huge. The Olympics are so exclusive that on the surface, no one should miss an opportunity that includes accolades, medals and even brand deals. So it is kind of a huge deal that Simone took off to focus on her mental health. That’s arguably one of the bravest things she’s done and I am grateful that she had this space to do that and hopefully create space for other Black athletes to not feel as if they have to sacrifice their mental health for greatness.






Intentional Flirting

For some background information on my personality, I am a Libra and a natural flirt, although I like to think I’m just charming. Simone Biles always had a fine man and I always wondered how different girls got into relationships because I’m getting old. So when she told how she simply hit him up in his DM’s, I was shook and laughably upset. I can't approach a man in his DMs. What should I say? What if he doesn't see it? I always tell myself that I am the gold so obviously suitors should come to me. After some internal digging, I realized that I flirt without intentions. I don't even know what I want from a guy but I just need to put him in my back pocket just in case. That realization made me be more intentional with how I move romantically. I want to attract better, so I have to do better. It's a very big energy to internationally flirt which is helpful for my attraction to older men. (smh).


Being Supportive and a Team Player



I take my mental health very seriously and I am quick to put my needs first. When Simone pulled out of the team competition, I thought we weren't going to see her but the pictures posted afterwards were beautiful. Simone stayed out and supported the team the entire time and even had some hands-on action. I think that surprised me because when I have issues, I handle them in solitude without thinking about others. I am not used to being on teams or groups because everything I did was mostly solo. I never took the time to think about how I can help and encourage others even if I couldn't participate. That humbled me.

Even though we should definitely take care of ourselves in moments of need, we should not become completely selfish. I think it was encouraging for the other team members to see their mentor, teammate and one of the greatest of all time cheer them on and stay as an active supporter. I think that shows signs of a great and mature leader and I will definitely be putting this into practice.




I love Simone and I wish her the best in life. I’m so proud of her and so inspired by her example. I want to be successful like Simone but I also want to be kind and gracious like her too!



Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page