top of page
Cream and Brown Photographic Beauty Site Launch Website (1).png
Cream and Brown Photographic Beauty Site Launch Website (1).png
Search

Summer 2022 Bucket List




I love the summer in Wisconsin. If it wasn't for the bees and bugs, it would be perfect. As a child, my summers were often stagnant and uneventful but as I've gotten older, I've been able to appreciate the time off and gather fun hobbies.

I wanted to share some of the things I plan on doing this summer as tool of encouragement for those who want to spend more time living in the moment. (I know I need to).




More Hammock-ing



I found hammocking during the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic. Now, I am absolutely addicted. Its so relaxing being by the water and having my full body weight supported by poles and fabric. After I got over my fear of falling out, I often get so comfortable I can fall asleep. I am making it my goal to hammock once a day at most and at least once a week. It will help me read and enjoy time in nature. I suggest everyone hammock (unless you want to hammock in my spot).







Stay awake on the longest day of the year



June 21st is the Summer Solstice, which means the sun will be up from 5:30am to 8:30pm. I want to stay up the entire day so I can soak in all the sun. One of the worst parts of winter is the fact that the sun leaves so early, leaving us cold and in the dark. So I want to be sure to take advantage of all the sun that will be available.





Outdoor Poolside Reading and Swimming



I do not have access to an outdoor pool yet but it is a lovely experience to read outdoors, next to a body of water and even taking time to dip in. Moments like these truly feel like a summer break. I have also been collecting more books to read this summer so be sure to stay tuned to my "Reading List" here, where I review different books I've read.





Birthday Cake Ice Cream from Kopps




Maybe 7 years ago, a family friend introduced my family and I to this ice cream flavor that is only available on July 4th in the US. I have been addicted since. Since I've been in college, I always ask my parents to pick me up some ice cream when they go. It is chunks of birthday cake and gobs pink and blue icing wrapped in vanilla ice cream. I usually like chocolate ice creams but this is my favorite vanilla flavor for sure! It has become my July tradition and my little prize to look forward to every July.






Picnic



I went on a picnic last year and I had a decent time. I was stalked by bees and ducks but other than that, I really enjoyed my time by reading and enjoying the sun and having cute little snacks. I really want to picnic again because now I know that I need a pillow for my arms and bug spray. I love being outside, especially during the summer so any activity that allows me to enjoy nature and a hobby excites me.






Root beer floats





I love root beer as a soda and as a kid I loved root beer floats. It seemed to genius to me to put soda and ice cream together. The ice cream really boosts the soda flavor. I just want to indulge a little bit and enjoy one of my favorite childhood treats that remind me of happy, long summers.







Ride bike




This may seem like a given since its summertime, but since I've been at university, maybe even half of high school, I haven't rode a bike. I remember learning to ride my bike on a summer Sunday after Sunday dinner. I was outside with my siblings and the neighborhood kids. I was on my first ever bike. It was purple and came with a matching helmet that I never wore because I wanted to be cool. I remember riding for a second and then falling. This repeated again but on my third try, I figured out the balance and rode my bike down the street to the stop sign. I was bleeding and my hands hurt from falling but I didn't care because I was finally able to ride my purple bike.






Since I've been a student my whole life. summer always meant relaxation and waking up at noon. But as I am transitioning into the workforce, that means my summers and winters will be the same. To balance this, I have already planned for trips in the fall, winter and summer. But as of right now, I am excited to relax and do traditional summer activities to force myself to stay present and enjoy life for a while.



Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page