top of page
Cream and Brown Photographic Beauty Site Launch Website (1).png
Cream and Brown Photographic Beauty Site Launch Website (1).png
Search

Advice from a Graduating College Senior






(Photos from Unsplash via Wix)





I have spent five years at university and it has been a journey. I am glad to be graduating but one of my sisters is graduating high school and entering university this year so I wanted to collect some information that I've gained over the years and pass it down to her and anyone else entering the college scene so they may have an easier time than I did.




1) Stay scheduled!

My first tip is to stay on a strict schedule. College means new freedom and it can be easy to get lost and overwhelmed with all the new and abrupt changes happening at the same time. Keeping a schedule will help you stay focused and avoid missing any deadlines. I always made sure my week was for working. So, during the week I would do classes and then start homework around 5pm and finish around 8pm, giving me enough time to enjoy my night for a few hours before bed, which I usually hit no later than 11pm. The weekends can get wild and crazy and you might be recovering all weekend with no time for homework so I always encourage people to finish their homework Friday night.


2) Get Involved!

I would also suggest you get involved. Join as many clubs as you are interested in. I was always on the email list for every organization I was interested in, even if I didn't have time to be a regular member. After the introduction meeting, you can usually narrow down what you want to do and what you have time for.

I would also suggest you find niche groups that match your interests as well, especially if you are part of a minority group. I found Black dance organizations, Black journalism organizations and Black organizations that focused on having events on campus for the entire Black community. It is important to have people who can understand your worldview and find spaces where you feel safe and comfortable. Some campuses even have buildings and rooms dedicated to minority group safe spaces which is nice to find community and applicable resources.


I would also add that you should try to meet as many people as you can in your freshman year. As the years go on, people will clique and find their solid group of friends and it becomes more difficult to be new and meet people. I know as a senior, I only left my place to go to work and classes, limiting my exposure to new people. Meeting everyone, in your class and above, is a great way to find parties, find classes and get more perspectives on campus.



3) Ask for help!

Do not be afraid to ask for help. This includes in class and outside of class. Asking for help is an easy way to connect with your TAs or professors. I think mentor figures and asking for help from advisors (even if you did not get accepted into their specialized major yet) is a great idea to get more insight into your major and career. It can also be nice to feel human if you are drowning on a large campus. Mentors and advisors are great for life advice, campus advice and even career advice. I think this is also great life advice since so many of us are afraid or too stubborn to ask for help when in reality, it makes life easier.


4) Prioritize mental and physical health and wellness!

Another huge concern in college is making sure to take care of your physical and mental health. Most campuses have nice gyms that make working out fun and sometimes even group classes are available. I would also recommend learning more about your mental health and tools you can use to take care of that part of your being. If your campus has therapy resources, try them out. Not all therapists are great however but do not be discouraged! For the one awful therapist I had, I had 3 more amazing therapists, so don't give up! I feel like college is the first place many of us have time to sit and focus on our mental health so it is important to make your mental health a priority. If there are days where you need to put yourself first, take a day off if you can. When I had to take a day off school and work, I simply emailed my professors and managers that I am going through a lot and I need to take the day off. Communicating this is much easier than trying to make up classes or work because they are aware ahead of time and are able to adjust for the future.


5) Build relations with professors

Another repetitive but helpful tip is to build a relationship with your professors. This can be done by visiting office hours a couple times a semester. This is extremely helpful when your professor is a professor in your major but can also be a good tip to use for all your classes. Having a connection with a professor can enhance your experience in their class and be useful for professional connections and references which can be used in job applications and scholarship applications.



6) Be open to change!

My journey at university changed from my original plan and I am very happy with how my degree journey turned out. I did not meet my lifelong friends or future bridesmaids but I was open to change and that is something I highly recommend. Life happens and sometimes our major is not fulfilling us as we thought it would. So be open to changes in your plan, especially if there are changes for the better. Life has its own plans for us and we should be open to what feels right for our individual path.


7) Party Hard!

My last tip would be to party hard and party early! I partied nearly every weekend, 2 days a week my freshman and sophomore years. As you get older, parties get lamer and lamer and so do the people. I suggest going to all the parties you can ( with people you trust) and enjoy yourself because as you go through your college journey, you will get busier with life and classes but freshman and sophomore years are good trial years. And then when you are older, you can bow out from the party life gracefully.



Looking back on my time at university, I have a lot to be grateful for and alot I wish I could change but overall I am glad that I got the experiences that I did because now I am better equipped to help others and transition to the real ‘adult’ world with more life lessons than high school.


Opmerkingen


bottom of page