top of page
Cream and Brown Photographic Beauty Site Launch Website (1).png
Cream and Brown Photographic Beauty Site Launch Website (1).png
Search

My Top 5 Projects of 2022

It's the end of the year and I wanted to show love for some of my favorite musical projects dropped this year. It's been a long year but music has helped me get through it.


1) Renaissance - Beyoncé



I was so excited and nervous when the rumors were dropping that Beyonce was coming back with another solo project. I dont like spoilers or rumors because they say anything with Beyonce's name to get clout but I just waited for mother. Her announcements had me on the edge of my seat and with the release of "Break my Soul", I had no idea what the album would sound like. I was expecitng something gritty and dark similar to "Lemonade" but even more mature. So after hearing BMS, I decided to do some research on the influences of the album like dance and so I listened to Donna Summer, Prince, Grace Jones, Michael Jackson and Rick James. I felt so at home oddly enough and it turns out I love 80's music more than 90's music. When the full album came out, I was sooooo happy. I had no control over my body and it felt great. I loved the ballroom influences especially because my body really took over, doing dance moves that had no names. I did a ballroom lesson a few years back and it was lovely learning about the culture and history of my Black LGBTQ people. Learning how they also handled oppression with music, dance and safe spaces. The joy and community inspired me.

I think Beyonce is incredibly smart for this album because it came at a time where we are still in a pandemic and suffering and especially us as Black people being shown time and time again that we are not safe in our Blackness no matter where we are; it feels amazing to forget all the issues and just enjoy the music. I think "Renaissance" coming after "Lemonade" was also a good thing because she has been hurt and healeed and its time to have a good time now.

My personal faves from the album change all the time but right now they would be: Alien Superstar, Church Girl, Virgo's Groove, Move, Thique, America has a Problem and Pure. The tranistions were also incredible and I loved the way she interpreted each transition to be different and fit the mood of the songs. I thank God for Beyonce.


2) Traumazine - Megan thee Stallion



This album is much different than "Renaissance" but I loved it just as much. Megan has outdone herself yet again with "Traumazine". First, she created a whole new word to fit her feelings. With the singles being, Sweetest Pie, Plan B and Pressurelicious, I had no idea what this album would sound like and I was pleasantly surprised. People like to put Megan in a box of oversexuality and twerking but she is human and vastly diverse. Haters have criticized Megan for only rapping about 'sex', having the 'same flow' and not being 'versatile' in her previous works and although this is untrue, Megan debunked all criticisms about her flows, topic choices and versatility within hiphop and rap. In "Traumazine" Megan hits hard with beats full of bass and lyrics to match. She also gets vulnerable with tracks like Anxiety and Flip Flop. But Megan doesn't forget the fun with tracks like Her, Sweetest Pie and Budget. There are many different types of songs on this album but they flow together so well I am pleasantly stunned becasue every time I question Megan, she schools me.

I also loved most of the features. I loved Sweetest Pie's word and play and although I've never heard of Dua Lipa before, she was a perfect choice for the song. I have always loved Rico Nasty and I have been wanting Megan to collab with her for forever so when I heard Scary, I was gagged. Of course the halloween queen and the gothic rock star would do a halloween banger. Both came through with bars and word play that took me weeks to comprehend.

I love this entire project from front to back so much but my top tracks today would be: Ungrateful, Not Nice, Ms. Nasty, Scary, Flip Flop, and Southside Royalty Freestyle.

(I could talk about this album all day, track by track but lets save that)


3) You Still Here, Ho? - Flo Milli



Flo Milli had been trending for a while this year doing popular skits from reality tv shows so it made sense when her album was released and it was in the theme of a tv network and even had the iconic Tiffany Pollard (aka Miss New York) for the intro and the outro of the album. I liked "Ho, why is you here?" but I think this album has been on repeat more. Flo Milli's pen is incredible and the way she is able to make so many different types of songs and still be on topic, and cohesive should not be taken for granted. The first two tracks, Come Outside and Bed Time are heavy hitters and I love this sound from Flo. She makes me want to fight all my haters and fake friends. I also loved PBC because it seems like a direct counter for all those people who think Blackness is the opposite of attractiveness. I need to see someone vogue down to PBC because to me it feels like revolution. Flo Milli also worked with Rico Nasty and I love every part of it! Both are such lyrical geniuses and play off each other and the vibe of the song well. They mix well and I hope they collab again in the future. Tilted Halo showed a different side of Flo Milli that I havent seen or heard before. I loved the somber yet honest mood of it and it really spoke to me. I am so proud of Flo Milli because this album is skipless and I am so excited to hear what she has next. She is the pen and rapper to watch for real.

The album was fun and hard in a way only true artists can accomplish. It was a mostly solo project with two features outside of Tiffany and Flo Milli handles it well. I didnt even realize she was doing it all until I sat down to write my reviews. I didnt get to see her on tour recently but the shows were lit and the sold out venues warmed my heart. Flo Milli deserves because she is talented and proves herself over and over again.

My top tracks right now would be: Come Outside, Hottie, PBC, Pretty Girls, On my Nerves, Pay Day, F.N.G.M., and Roaring 20's.


4) What I Didn't Tell You - Coco Jones



I've been waiting on Coco to drop this EP!!!! I was so excited and thought I was being pranked when she announced. She had already released singles Caliber and Love is War and then ICU. I have been watching her since Disney's Next Big Thing and so it is really amazing to see her continue to work hard in a world and industry that doesnt value talent as much as it values skintone. I have also been binging her Terrell show apperances and their show T and Coco. I love their bond and hearing Coco sing is always a highlight of my day. The only things I was sad about was that is was an EP which meant shorter project and that Love is War is only available on Amazon Music. ( I get it girl, getcho coins but I cant work that app)

Starting the EP, Crazy for Me was one of my favorites because it was upbeat which can be difficult for song writers especially in this age of new R&B. Double Back sampled Rain by SWV and it was a beautiful song and very vulnerable. She was basically saying that she was in these relationships but they didnt work out because she needed to be focused on herself and heal herself first. I loved the simplicity of the track and her tone is incredible as usual.Its a perfect song for those rainy day playlists. ICU was the general public's favorite especially after the BET performance (that they cut off.. I am still not over it. She and Ari Lennox were the only people I wanted to see perform that night anyway). The video was so mature and sexy. I really enjoyed it. Her tone and power shines on ICU compared to the rest of the songs. I could definietly hear Jazmine Sullivan on the remix. Its a song that made me want to be in love and I only get those feels from the iconic Anita Baker. It felt like longing for a love that I never had.

She also did a song with Babyface (not on the EP) called Simple and its so lovely.

I love all the tracks so much especially Headline and Spend it and I am really looking forward to all the performances she has up her sleeve.


5) Special - Lizzo



"Special" is my first taste at hearing a full Lizzo album at release. I had just finished watching Lizzo's show on Amazon "Lizzo's Watch Out for the Big Grrrls" and I love who Lizzo is and I loved the show. It was a good glimpse into the life of a backup dancer. I loved most of the ladies and their interactions with Lizzo. Lizzo speaks to me as a person but ultimately as a Black woman. I think many people tried to 'mammy' her but she is unapologetically Black af, unapologetically fat and unapologetically talented and I love that for her and me. I am a firm believer in talent regardless of how you look or who you know. If you work hard, are humble and talented, you should be hired and given a chance period. Lizzo's understanding of music really shines through her music even if you dont understand her word play. (Momma raps okay! Word play not onomatopoeia) This album to me felt like what I imagine a conversation with Lizzo would be like. She is fun and outgoing yet encouraging and vulnerable. Some of the songs were previewed on her show and seeing the dancing combined with the lyrics after hearing the full song (Naked) was so emotional.

I loved watching Lizzo perform for her tour (which I also missed but its okay, I got next time). Her energy is incredible and she can dance, sing and play the freakin flute which I admire so much. I am so glad that I get to experience the greatness that is Lizzo. She seems soo humble and kind but just know she is that girl forever and always.

My top tracks would have to be: Grrls, I love you bitch, Everybody's Gay and Naked.

Comentarios


bottom of page